Polica Dubova

Slovensko / English

Olga Tokarczuk

The Polish writer, essayist, and scriptwriter Olga Tokarczuk was born in 1962 in Sulechów, Lower Silesia. She graduated in Clinical Psychology from the University of Warsaw and worked for a while as a psychotherapist after completing her studies, but soon began to focus on writing professionally. She debuted in 1979 with a series of short stories in the Na przełaj magazine and has also published her work in the Wroclaw-based Mandragora magazine and the Życie Literackie. Her debut novel, The Journey of the Book People, was published in 1993 and was awarded the Polish Publishers’ Association Prize. Ever since then, Olga Tokarczuk’s novels and short stories have ranked her amongst the very top of Polish contemporary writers of prose. She is an outstanding narrator, who manages to thrill both critics and readers alike with the innovativeness and diversity of her works in regard to content as well as genre. 

Tokarczuk was awarded the 2018 Nobel Prize for Literature in 2019.

She has published nine novels, two books of short prose, and two collections of essays for which she has received a string of Polish and foreign literary awards. She has won the Nike Readers’ Choice Award no less than four times, and in 2008 was awarded with the premier Nike Literary Award for the novel Runners. Her books have been translated into most European languages. Many of her works have also been adapted for the stage as well as the screen. She conducts seminars on prose fiction as part of the creative writing programmes at the Jagiellonian University in Krakow and at Opole University. She was also one of the initiators of the International Short Story Festival in Wroclaw. Today she lives and works in Lower Silesia.


Polish Book Publishers’ Association Award
Kościelski Foundation Award
NIKE Award – three-time winner of Readers’ Choice Award
NIKE Literary Award for the novel Runners
Nominated for the ANGELUS Central
European Literary Award for the novel Runners
The NIKE Award 2015 winner for The Books of Jacob


2014 Księgi Jakubowe / The Books of Jacob
2009 Prowadź swój pług przez kości umarłych / Guide Your Plow Through the Bones of the Dead
2006 Anna w grobowcach Świata / Anna In in the Catacombs
2004 Ostatnie historie / Final Stories
1995 E. E.
1993 Podróż ludzi Księgi / The Journey of the Book People
1996 Prawiek i inne czasy / Prawiek and Other Times 
1998 Dom dzienny, dom nocny  / House of Day, House of Night

Short stories
2007 Bieguni / Runners
2001 Gra na wielu bębękach / Playing Many Drums
1997 Szafa / The Cupboard 

2016 Lalka i perła / The Doll and the Pearl
2012 Moment niedźwiedzia / Bear’s Moment

www.policadubova.org © 2011