Polica Dubova

Slovensko / English

Virginia Woolf

Virginia Woolf was born Adeline Virginia Stephen in 1882 in London. She was the third child of historian, editor, critic and biographer Leslie Stephen and Julia Prinsep Duckworth Stephen. Both parents had been married before, and the household contained children of three marriages.  In her youth, she had experienced many painful bereavements: in 1895 her mother died, in 1897 her stepsister Stella Duckworth, in 1904 her father, and in 1906 – shortly following the siblings' travel to Greece – her brother Thoby. After her mother's death she experienced mental illness which kept returning throughout her lifetime. She gained education in her father's abundant library, in the years 1897–1901 she also studied Greek, Latin, German and history at King's College in London. After the death of their father, Virginia, her sister Vanessa and their brother Adrian moved to Bloomsbury, where together with their friends they gave rise to the influent Bloomsbury Group.

photo by George Charles Beresford

In 1912 Virginia Stephen married writer Leonard Woolf. In March 1941, after she had completed  the manuscript of her last (posthumously published) novel Between the Acts, fearing German invasion, feeling depressed and suspecting another attack of mental illness, Virginia Woolf drowned herself in the river Ouse near her home in Rodmell, Sussex.
Virginia Woolf was one of the most prominent English and European Modernist writers and a great reformist of the English novel. In her experimental modernist prose, she had given up linear narration, applied intensely lyrical style, the stream of consciousness technique and swift changes of narrative perspective. But at the same time she maintained a vital dialogue with English literary tradition. She wrote ten novels: The Voyage Out (1915), Night and Day (1919), Jacob's Room (1922), Mrs. Dalloway (1925), To the Lighthouse (1927), Orlando (1928), The Waves (1931), Flush (1933), The Years (1937) and Between the Acts (posthumously, 1941). She also wrote short stories, essays, polemic essays: A Room of one's Own (1929), Three Guineas (1938), and diaries.

Virginia Woolf: Jakobova soba

Virginia Woolf: Leta

www.policadubova.org © 2011